Treasures on Earth

Spending time with my family is what I cherish most about this time of year.  Remove all the presents, the decorations, the food and crazy schedules and it all boils down to time well spent with my loved ones.  I love catching up with all the cousins and aunts and uncles and seeing how the kids are all growing up way too fast.  There is nothing like looking in to the eyes of the youngest one there and seeing your grandma’s eyes looking back at you.  That is amazing!!

My family hails from southeastern Kentucky.  Yep!  We come right out of the holler’.  My mom and her sister and two brothers were raised in severe poverty.  However, you would never know it if you met them.   My uncles worked in the coal mines and I can honestly say that I’m proud to be a coal miner’s daughter!  But I’ll save that for another time…

I get so excited as the evening closes in and the coffee gets poured while we all gather around to hear the stories of old.  Sometimes we pull out old photo albums and that will spark a story which inevitably leads to another story.  I love it!  I would say to anyone reading this…if you are blessed enough to still have your grandparents then run…don’t walk…as fast as you can and ask them to tell you about what they did for fun when they were young.  Ask them about the price of gas or bread…better yet, ask them about their mom and dad.  You have a treasure in front of you just waiting to shine!

Nobody can do for little children what grandparents do.
Grandparents sort of sprinkle stardust over the lives of little children. ~Alex Haley
All too quickly time will pass you by.  You will blink and twenty years will be gone.  I believe that is why we need to make every moment count.  Take as  many pictures and videos as you can.  Hug your family every day.  Children…respect your parents.  Parents…respect your children.  You won’t get this day back.

Go and make a memory today….

2 thoughts on “Treasures on Earth

  1. Thank-you for this post you may never know how much it means to me. Three years ago my father passed at his bed side he blessed me. I am now the oldest living male in my family and it has come with a position of leadership I never new of. In just a few hours the family will be gathering again and there will be the stories just as you spoke of. I remember the last time we all where together all the little Jimmy stories came out things I did not even remember I did. One cousin pull me aside and said all our lives we have looked up to you nothing has changed.
    God bless and Merry Christmas! James

    Like

    • James…you are so welcome! I am humbled to know that these words have touched you. It sounds like you were entrusted with a great responsibility. What a blessing to know that God chose you to be a role-model and inspiration to your family. May He bless you in the new year and always.
      Rachel

      Like

Leave a Reply

