What Needless Pain We Bear!

I’ve just turned the heat up and am getting settled in for a relaxing evening of watching television, of which I normally despise.  It has been a cold, rainy day today.  The kind of day where you expect the rain to turn to snow at any given moment.  I feel blessed to be able to kick back and take it easy.  There are no pressing issues that need dealt with this minute.  However, my mind is heavy this evening.

For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also aboundeth by Christ. 

2 Corinthians 1:5

 A friend of mine is going through an extremely difficult situation.  She is watching her mom slowly fade from this existence.  I can not begin to imagine the despair I would feel if my mom were not in this world.  Oh, I know she would be in a better place and I would find unspeakable peace in Jesus.  Still, a world without your mom would be so lonesome.  My heart is heavy at just the thought of losing my mom.  I can’t imagine what my friend is feeling.

She knows what is about to happen.  She and her sister have done everthing they can to make their mother’s final, precious moments as comfortable as possible.  Oh what tremendous sadness…oh what tremendous joy.  Holding your mother’s hand as she passes from this life to her eternal rest on high.

 For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time

are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us. 

Romans 8:18

Her mom has spent 90 some years on this earth.  She is due her rest.  But, saying goodbye is never easy.  Especially when it feels so permanent.  Those who have Jesus know that they will see their loved ones again.  Even so, death is a slice of life that we all must be given and there is no easy way to let go of the people we love.  It is in our best interest to remind ourselves and those around us who are grieving that when we do let go…Jesus steps in and carries our loved one home…

What a friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear!

What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer!

O what peace we often forfeit,O what needless pain we bear,

all because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.

 Have we trials and temptations? Is there trouble anywhere?

We should never be discouraged; take it to the Lord in prayer.

Can we find a friend so faithful who will all our sorrows share?

Jesus knows our every weakness; take it to the Lord in prayer.

Are we weak and heavy laden, cumbered with a load of care?

Precious Savior, still our refuge; take it to the Lord in prayer.

Do thy friends despise, forsake thee? Take it to the Lord in prayer!

In his arms he’ll take and shield thee; thou wilt find a solace there.

Text: Joseph M. Scriven, 1820-1886

Music: Charles C.  Converse, 1832-1918

9 thoughts on “What Needless Pain We Bear!

  1. I lost my mom in 1999. Luckily God drew me into a relationship with Him before she became ill. He helped me walk through the death of my mom and I couldn’t have survived it without His amazing love!

    Like

      • I totally get that! After I surrendered my life to Jesus I could look back and see so many things that He had designed to draw me near. I’m so thankful that He did. *sigh* There is so much to be thankful for…I get so excited when I think about Him returning. Have a great day Shelly! God is with us Always,
        Rachel

        Like

    • Dwayne, you are such an amazing guy. I’m sorry to hear about your father but what a blessing to still have your mom. We know that God knows what He is doing and when the author of your life is God Almighty it gives you Peace that you can’t even begin to explain! Have a wonderful, blessed day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

