Socks and Other Luxuries.

He that hath a bountiful eye shall be blessed; for he giveth of his bread to the poor.  Proverbs 22: 9

As evening stretches out before me, I find myself thinking about the homeless in my community and around the world.  I wonder how many are going to sleep tonight in a car, a tent, under a bridge. I can’t begin to imagine how horrible that must be on a night like this where temperatures will be dipping down into the 30’s (maybe colder with the wind chill.)  I pray for them.

As for me, I have an evening of fun, food and friends waiting on me. Oh how I take life for granted and all the things I have. Socks! I mean, who really thinks about their socks? I don’t unless my feet get cold. What a luxury…and gloves?! Do you own a pair of gloves? A scarf? Close your eyes for a second and think about what it would be like sleeping on the cold sidewalk with no socks, maybe blisters on your feet, no gloves, and no coat! My goodness…what are we gonna do??

  Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.

1 Corinthians 12:27

We are the body of Christ.  We need to reach out to those less fortunate…to those hurting and hungry.  The spiritually wounded who are desperate for something that they do not know how to ask for.  We, as Christians know what the answer is!  It is so simple.  Jesus!

 Have we grown so slack in our servitude that we can’t even stretch forth our hand to those who are lost?  I pray not.

 But if we are the body…Why aren’t His arms reaching? 

Why aren’t His hands healing? 

Why aren’t His words teaching? 

And if we are the body…Why aren’t His feet going? 

Why is His love not showing them there is a way? 

There is a way

 (Casting Crowns)

Before I head out tonight I want to challenge you!  What are you doing this Christmas Season to share the love of Jesus?

Please, call your local homeless shelter and see if there is a family you can adopt for Christmas.  Clean out your cupboards and take your offering to your community food bank.  Do you have a neighbor who has lost a job?  Wrap some gifts and leave them on the porch or slip an envelope of cash in their mailbox.  It only takes a simple act of kindness to change a person’s entire outlook!

One person can make a difference.  Will you be the “one” this year?

 For God loveth a cheerful giver.

 2 Corinthians 9:7

 http://www.midohiofoodbank.org/

15 thoughts on “Socks and Other Luxuries.

  1. One of the coldest mornings of the winter last year I needed to put gas before work. I had on a warm sock cap and gloves when I got down to put gas. That is when I saw a homeless man sitting on the curb with no hat, coat, nor gloves. I went to work that day with no cap, gloves,nor coat. When ask that day at work where was such things I told them the Lord had need of them so I gave them to Him. They never understood what I had done, but I did go and buy new cold weather clothing at the end of the work day. When I got home my wife ask what I had done I told her the whole story. She made a remark something like hope you don’t catch a cold. I said it will never happen and it didn’t. Amen

    Like

  2. Thank you for the reminder to look around me and find those in need and serve them! It is easy to take the things we have for granted. I will definitely think of those less fortunate the next time I put on my socks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

