Homesick

I find myself at a loss today.  It seems so much has happened over the last few days that I have been thrown off track.  Don’t get me wrong…I’m still anchored.  I’m just feeling homesick today.  Homesick for a place I’ve never seen.  I guess that is the best way to describe what I’m feeling.

It is quite an awakening once you understand that this world is not your home.  You realize that you are just making your way through each and every day…trying to be as strong and obedient as you can.  Sometimes this world seems so overwhelming.  I guess without Jesus the world is overwhelming.

So many bible verses come to mind.  However, the one that stands out is…

In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer;

I have overcome the world.   John 16:33

How can you read that and not be of good cheer?  Jesus has overcome the world.  He has overcome all the temptations, the heartaches, the hunger, the disease, the sin!  He has overcome it all!!!  So, how is it that I struggle today with this horrible mood that I am in?  I have so many blessings in my life.  Countless blessings.  I guess I have to chalk it up to this earthly body with all its aches and pains is a reminder that I am not home yet.

Even as I long for that heavenly home, I know that there is much work to be done here.  There are so many who do not have a relationship with Jesus…so many who do not know him.  I honestly don’t know where I would be without him.  So, I keep going…uphill, downhill, sometimes a nice straight path.

 

Maybe, today will be the day of salvation for someone.  Perhaps, someone reading this will be compelled to pick up their Bible, dust it off and read a little…better yet, get down on those joint-cracking knees and cry out to Jesus.  He will hear you and he will meet you right where you are!  You’ve got nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Give it a whirl…

3 thoughts on “Homesick

Leave a Reply

