What is Life?

For what is life?  It is evan a vapor, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.”  James 4:13

I’ve been thinking a lot about time recently.  More specifically, our time spent living here on this earth.  I know that in this life our days are numbered. Yet, it is an odd comfort to grasp that our time on earth is precisely measured out to fulfill God’s plan.  I’ve come to the conclusion that time is truly fleeting.  It comes and it goes so fast.  It seems we never really notice just how fast it slips away until we lose someone that touches our life.  We all know that with life there is death and even in that knowledge there is nothing we can do that will prepare us.

In the wake of loss, I find myself contemplating my role in the lives of all the people around me.  Have I been a witness?  Have I spoke of Jesus and his wonderful saving grace?  Have I kept my mouth shut and my opinions out of things so that His Holy Spirit can work through me?  How many days do I have left to repent and let my light shine?

Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be.  Remind me that my days are numbered – how fleeting my life is.  Psalms 39:4

There never seems to be enough time for_______________.  You name it.  It will fill the blank.  Perhaps there isn’t enough time for what we have in mind.  However, God’s time is enough.  God’s time is perfect.  When our thoughts and feelings are clouded with grief, hurt and anger it is hard to believe that anyone’s time on earth was long enough or fulfilled according to our Father’s plan.  Praise the Lord that He is merciful and forgiving of us and our ignorance as we question His plan.

You would think that after 41 years on this earth that I would be getting a little bit wiser.  At least I can recognize that the more I do learn…the less I really know.   I try to live my life with no regrets.  Sounds simple, huh?  Well, it’s not!  I have to put my trust in Jesus every day…sometimes minute by minute, and pray that what I am doing is what He wants me to do.   I screw up every day.   I ask for forgiveness every day and Jesus loves me every day!!

All I can do in this moment is keep my on Jesus – and that is time well spent.

Leave a Reply

