Thank you Mamaw!

“Take heed that no man deceive you.  For many shall come in my name , saying, I am Christ; and shall deceive many.”  Matthew 24:4-5

When I was young girl I spent a lot of time with my grandma who I lovingly called Mamaw.  I remember every New Year’s eve we would stand out on her porch and bang pots and pans and yell out “Happy New Year”.  What a wonderful memory.

I’ll never forget going to church with her.  She always gave me a dollar to put in the collection plate as it passed us.  Sometimes, she would stand and sing.  Now, mamaw didn’t have the best singing voice.  However, when it comes to praising Jesus there really are no bad voices!  I’ll always remember what she would sing.

                                 “We are living surely living in the days he speaks about

                                   All of these we now are having every day

                                Let’s be ready for his coming let us meet him with a shout

                                For he tells us in his word to watch and pray”

The song is called Matthew 24.  I would beg her to sing this song, and being the kind and patient mamaw that she was, she would obliged my every request.  If you have never heard this song I suggested you go download it and take a listen.  It’s an older song.  However, the words have never rang truer than they do today.

Mamaw was a great inspiration to me and our entire family.  She is missed beyond words, but I know that one day we will all meet again.  Until that day, her voice and her song remind me to keep fighting the good fight.  She was truly a Christian woman and taught me a lot about Jesus.

I hope and pray that everyone has a mamaw that loves them the way my mamaw loved her family.  You talk about a blessing…she was a blessing!!

     Who can find a virtuous woman?  For her price is far above rubies?  Proverbs 31:10

     Strength and honor are her clothing; and she shall rejoice in time to come. She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the 

     law of kindness.  Proverbs 31: 25-26

 

 

2 thoughts on “Thank you Mamaw!

  1. You actually make it seem really easy together with your presentation but I in finding this matter to be really something that I feel I would by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next publish, Ill try to get the cling of it! deddbdeeffbb

    Like

Leave a Reply

