Jesus loves the little children.

Here I sit.  In a somewhat comfy chair in front of my laptop.  My work day is over and yet, today, my work lingers in my mind.  Why, you ask.  Today, I washed a 9 month old baby in the kitchen sink at my place of employment.  Her mother had gone to check in with her probation officer and tested positive for Opiates.  She was immediately taken to jail.  I just keep seeing this little baby looking up at me.  So trusting and unaware.  This little baby. Innocent. A silent victim of addiction.

Her clothes were filthy.  She needed a bath.  Do you know she didn’t once fight or fuss.  She just sat there in that towel lined sink…smiling up at me.  It made me think of how much we are like that little baby.  Filthy, getting into everything and not knowing the dangers.  Constantly in need of a guiding hand to keep us steady and upright while we try to stand.   I can’t imagine all the dangers, trials and trouble I’ve escaped thanks to the loving hand of my Heavenly Father.

How many times have I leaned against Him not knowing that I would have fallen had it not been for Him.   In the midst of this terrible situation I found myself thankful and praising Jesus in my heart!!  Grateful that He can look upon my dirty face and still see something beautiful.  Our God IS an awesome God!!!

That little baby was taken away by friends of her mother.  They seemed nice.  I sent up a silent prayer that God will continue to watch over and keep this child safe.

I take a deep breath.  Let it out.   I try to silence my mind and thoughts and let my spirit say what my words can not express.  I’m not surprised that this simple, but beautiful song fills my spirit….

Jesus loves the little children,
All the children of the world.
Red and yellow, black and white,
All are precious in His sight,
Jesus loves the little children of the world…..

One thought on “Jesus loves the little children.

  1. I call it the process of exchange. Everyday, I cast all the junk and negativity of the day on Him (1 Peter 5:7) and in exchange He gives me peace and hope. That’s what I call a win-win scenario! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

